loader image
Select Page

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), Dr Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, and the head of the United Nations (UN) in South Africa and Resident Coordinator, Ms Nardos Bekele-Thomas, launched the COGTA-UN partnership on 06 April 2021 in support of the implementation of the District Development Model (DDM) in the O.R. Tambo District, Eastern Cape.

Minister Dlamini Zuma will be joined by the MEC of COGTA in the Eastern Cape, Mr Xolile Nqata, and the Executive Mayor of O.R. Tambo District, Cllr Thokozile Sokanyile.

The model proposes a ‘One Plan’ approach to local development that seeks to incorporate public, private and civil society participation and investment in a joint, centrally controlled effort to provide service delivery, localise procurement and create jobs.

The COGTA-UN partnership will initially focus on the three DDM pilot districts, namely: O.R. Tambo (Eastern Cape), Waterberg (Limpopo) and eThekwini (KwaZulu-Natal). The partnership will give practical expression to the DDM principles which are based on cooperation and collaboration among stakeholders.

This follows joint COGTA-UN consultations in the three pilot districts in an effort to understand their development priorities. The partnership has identified specific areas of support that the UN can provide to the districts, building on existing work and addressing specific gaps by establishing Business Solution Centres and strengthening the Thuthuzela Care Centres and the Thusong Centres to try and improve on service delivery.

The partnership has developed district-specific implementation plans based on three interrelated pillars. These include the Unlocking Economic Value Chains pillar, which will provide opportunities for inclusive and sustainable growth and the Social Transformation pillar, which is intended to result in increased stakeholder commitment and advocacy in Gender-Based Violence and Femicide. The third pillar, the Service Delivery Enhancement, will focus on resuscitating and restructuring entities such as the Thusong Centres ostensibly to give citizens access to public service and information.

If you know anything about who was consulted or if you are a resident of O.R. Tambo (Eastern Cape), Waterberg (Limpopo) or eThekwini (KwaZulu-Natal) and were not consulted, let us know in the CMOSA COMMUNITY FORUM – https://cmosa.org.za/community/